Home   Early Years

Early Years


At Oxclose Primary Academy learning in Early Years reflects the EYFS Statutory Framework and Development Matters Guidance. The curriculum is based around four principles:

  • Every child is a unique individual who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and carers.
  • Children develop and learn in different ways. Practitioners teach children by ensuring challenging, playful opportunities across the Prime and Specific areas of learning and development.

Learning is categorised into seven areas: three Prime and four Specific.

The Prime areas are fundamental; work together and feed through to support development in all other areas. The Prime areas are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The Specific areas include essential skills and knowledge. They grow out of the Prime areas, and provide important contexts for learning. The specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Underpinning the Early Years curriculum are the Characteristics of Effective Learning. Children are given opportunities to play and explore, engage in active learning, and create and think critically.

Early Years Curriculum Intent

Web Design MymensinghPremium WordPress ThemesWeb Development